The Night Tiger: A Novel
The Night Tiger: A Novel The Night Tiger: A Novel
$17.99

From New York Times–bestselling author Yangsze Choo, an utterly transporting novel set in 1930s colonial Malaysia, perfect for fans of Isabel Allende and Min Jin Lee.

Smart, vivacious Ji Lin is stuck as an apprentice dressmaker, moonlighting as a dancehall girl to help pay off her mother’s mahjong debts. But when one of her dance partners accidentally leaves behind a gruesome souvenir, Ji Lin may finally get the adventure she has been hoping for.

Across town, 11-year-old houseboy Ren is on a mission of his own, racing to fulfill his former master’s dying wish: that Ren find the man’s severed finger, lost years ago in an accident, and bury it with his body. Ren has 49 days to do so, or his master’s soul will wander the earth forever.

"The Night Tiger" draws us into a world of servants and masters, ancient superstition and modern ambition, sibling rivalry and forbidden love. But anchoring this dazzlingly ambitious, propulsive novel is the intimate coming of age of a boy and a girl, each searching for their place in a society that would rather they stay invisible.

Yangsze Choo is a NYTimes bestselling novelist and a fourth generation Malaysian of Chinese descent. Her first novel, THE GHOST BRIDE (2013), was a Goodreads Choice finalist. Her second novel, THE NIGHT TIGER (2019), was named as one of the best books of the year for Amazon, The Washington Review of Books, Bookpage, Chicago Public Library, and the Los Angeles Public Library.

Additional Information:

  • Author: Yangsze Choo
  • Published 2020
  • 384 pages, softcover
  • 8 1/3 X 5 1/4 inches